today I break from LSAT hell

I’ve been trying to spend lots of time prepping for the LSAT exam in June. If I get a good enough score, I get into a decent law school, and I prepare for a second true career. I was once an economist (15 years) then a stay at home mom and artist (12 years…but neither was profitable! ) and art therapist (2 years, definitely not profitable).

Yesterday, despite a lot of breaks…I made a great deal of progress plowing through the material assigned by Stratus Prep, the company I signed up for to help me get a better score. I didn’t stop till 10:30. This morning I did a few exercises . Yay! they came naturally , after struggling with the same types of problems yesterday and wondering if I was brain dead.

Now I am putting away the books: Off to my kettlebells workout, then my horse for an hour lesson. This is a four-hour commitment, including driving time, training with my instructor, and caring for the hors).

Then I WILL just shower and hopefully have a nice date with Eric if he doesn’t cancel (which I still fear he will…he’s that overcomitted,and sometimes things come up last minute…. I will not take it personally). Regardless, I’m going to take a break from these hellish workbooks.

I need it. I will probably feel guilty. But I think like working out — for your muscles to strengthen, you need days off from hauling the weights.

7 thoughts on “today I break from LSAT hell

  1. HUMOR_ME_NOW

    Hi Anita,Enjoy yourself today and tonight. I am a big believer in taking breaks from routine. I also believe in getting out of the house, even though I am stuck until Sunday.Nice to hear your studying went better.frank

    Reply
  2. leaflesstree

    I remember reading somewhere that it’s good to alternate what kind of workouts you do. Arms one day, legs the next, etc, etc, that way you get a more well-rounded workout. Sounds like you have an awesome day planned, and a good future. I thought about being a lawyer at one point but that’s a lot of dry reading you have to do and I’m maybe a bit too creative for the studying. 

    Reply
  3. nyfemme

    @leaflesstree – I’ve always been a bit of a mutt. I started college as a fine arts student, went to parsons school of design, switched to NYU pre law with a major in econ and wound up an economist (go figure). While I was a stay at home mom I painted a lot (all the paintings on this site are mine, including the profile closeup of the sitting model).   Most people have one side of their brain that dominates… I dunno how I turned out like this!  

    Reply
  4. nyfemme

    @ccrider17 – yeah, well,, I meant money-wise!    Being a stay at home marriage probably also destroyed my marriage, at least in part. Perhaps he was a jerk but he thought he was marrying a 6-figure earner, not a consumer of his $$.  Was a major thing eating him up for years.   (there were other reasons, of course, but we’re just talking about $ here)  

    Reply
  5. soltero_alma

    @nyfemme – I know what you meant. I just think you have done an amazing job chosing the right priorities, being fortunate enough to do so. And who knows, if it wasn’t you staying home, perhaps it would eventually have been something else that would have undone your marriage? Take caree, hope the weekend is fun.

    Reply

Leave a comment