Banging my head against the wall

I don’t know if I took the wrong LSAT prep class, or if I’m just DENSE about some things.

I decided to use a relatively new company, SRATUS prep, instead of the more well known companies, such as Kaplan, because:

a) they claimed they had the highest point increase in the industry, but b) much more importantly, they had a schedule that fit with my life. I just couldn’t go to a night class five days a week for instance, and for some reason, the schedule that was coming up when I was looking for a course had classes on Dad Saturdays and Tues & Thur nights.

But I’m really frustrated. My group happens to have the founder as the teacher, and instead of speaking slowly and saying everythiing once, he speaks really fast and repeats himself so much I want to kill him. We are behind schedule in the class itineray and we haven’t done more than a few real life questions. So far it’s all in the abstract.

Moreover, I know more about his past boyfriends and his love life than I really want to know. I even blurted out –“Too Much Information!” last class.

And, then there is the problem that I’m not so sure his methods are the best way for me to learn.The pressure is on because my test date is June 7.

Taking practice tests now makes me feel better because I can do much of the work (without the pressure of time if I don’t use a times), but makes me feel like shit because I panic and fuck up as soon as I put the timer on.

The class is supposed to give me the tools to take this standardized test so that I can jump around, identify and skip the very hard questions” and automatically translate questions into a logical easy to solve framework. So far it’s not working, because the abstract stuff is just confusing me (I keep having to look at the index cards I made up as cheat sheets). Plust the course book, is so poorly written — big strings of paragraps instead of bullet points — I want to re-write the darn thing.

Anyway. Thanks for listening to me. Can you hear the walls cracking? Bang. Bang. Bang.

4 thoughts on “Banging my head against the wall

  1. nyfemme

    @ccrider17 – if most lawyers discourage prospective law students from the practice of law does that meana) all lawyers areworried about others taking their customersb) some  lawyers are unhappyc) the practice of law is something lawyers discourage prospective law students from doingd) elephants are greybang bang

    Reply
  2. HUMOR_ME_NOW

    Hi Anita, I did not comment the first time that I read this, but with my wife gone, I have more time.Practice tests have always helped me. It depends on the validity of the practice test–does it really reflect the real test.  I assisted a professor once with bone head math. I had to take it as a Bus.Ad. student. They put our foot ball players in the class because they were so dumb. I helped the professor write the test so even a dumb quarterback or tackle could answer it. lolIt sounds like the professor is off the wall in all areas.I am sure you will figure it out, but it has to be frustrating.frank

    Reply

Leave a comment